It doesn't matter.
Thor is Mad, Loki is Brave
First let's look at what makes someone brave. Brave is defined as possessing or displaying courage, which is to face fears and vicissitudes with self-possession. Is Thor Brave? Is he scared, afraid of the Ice Giants, when he charges into their homeworld to mash them up? No! He's loving that shit, thinks fighting is hilarious! So forget Jotun, he's like that all the time right? Can a man with no fear ever be truly courageous? (short answer for morons; no)
Meanwhile Loki, is afraid, he's afraid of Thor, of spooky Jotun, and curiously enough, disobeying his father, the God Odin. Funny thing eh? That last bit. We all cheer Thor on as he explicitly says "fuck dad, I know better" and almost plunges his people into a massive war just because he's what, mad? A retard?
...But Loki, he stand up to Thor, telling him how dad said not to do this, and this is bad for Asgard. Hell he even rats them out... and not just in the movies. Look specifically to the Bondage of Loki in the Poem, Lokasenna. You can read it, but to sum it up, Thor shows up after Loki is pretty much telling all the God's what a bunch of hypocrites they are and calling them out on their shit, and tell's him to shut up. Loki starts on Thor. Calling him out on his cowardice at hiding from battle. Thor tells him to shut up, or else. Loki keeps going, saying things that are hurtful to Thor's extremely fragile ego. Thor loses his shit.
Thor would rule very much like Joseph Stalin. He doesn't like it when people say things are aren't untrue.
I have to go make breakfast now, but long story short,
- Loki fights for what he believes in, Thor fights because he thinks it's fun.
- Loki cared about his father, Thor cared more about his inheritance.
- Loki cares about his People, Thor has no regard for the well-being of those who would have lived under him.
- Loki is intelligent and has foresight. Thor is dumb, and can't see beyond satisfying his urges. You tell me who makes a better ruler...
(before you moan about Loki wanting to be king; they both coveted the throne, but the difference is, Thor acted like a bitch because his daddy wouldn't crown him already, like a bitch, acts out against their parents for not getting what they want for Christmas! Loki, even when he was at the coronation ceremony already ACCEPTED that Thor would rule. He may not have liked it, but he didn't act like a BITCH.)
Yeah, sure, the movie made a reaaal good job of portraying Loki as this sniveling worm-man, worman if you will (more on this later), because Hollywood doesn't like moral ambiguity, because audiences are uncomfortable dealing with it...
Oh and before I go, I leave you with one hilariously fun fact... You remember how Sam the Hobbit pretty much CARRIES the pathetic sub-hobbit filth that is Frodo Baggins in the LotR Trilogy?
Yeah it was kinda like that when Thor lost his Hammer! And Loki Was Sam. And he kicked ass in a flying cape and whistled while doing it.


No comments:
Post a Comment